Update on the Linux Foundation Public Health Initiative for Asia Pacific

Recorded: Tuesday February 2, 2021

Webinar Speakers: LFPH Executive Director Brian Behlendorf, LFPH Director of Programs Jenny Wanger, Tencent Public Health Vice President Dr Alexander Ng, and New Zealand Ministry of Health Principal Architect, Data & Digital, Patrick Hindmarsh

How we are helping to fight COVID-19 and future pandemics and how you can get involved

Headshots and registration info for the webinar.

Don’t miss this webinar on the Linux Foundation’s Public Health initiative, featuring global open source tech leader and LFPH Executive Director Brian Behlendorf, LFPH Director of Programs Jenny Wanger, Tencent Public Health Vice President Dr Alexander Ng, and New Zealand Ministry of Health Principal Architect, Data & Digital, Patrick Hindmarsh. 

Public health authorities are facing their gravest crisis in a century. The past year has shown in sharp relief the urgent need for public health authorities to partner with tech leaders globally to fight COVID-19 and future pandemics.

To help the world meet this challenge the Linux Foundation launched its public health initiative (LFPH) in 2020, with a mission to use open source software to help public health authorities (PHAs) improve public health outcomes around the world.

Hear LFPH, tech leaders and public health experts discuss key issues including:

  • What is LFPH and how is it helping PHAs fight COVID-19 and prepare for future pandemics?
  • What are LFPH’s key projects and how they are assisting PHAs and technology companies? 
  • Who are the key technology companies working with LFPH?
  • What are the main challenges facing PHAs and their tech partners in pandemic response and management?
  • What is next – what new public health projects are on the horizon and why?
  • How can you get involved – how can tech companies, PHAs, individual developers and others join LFPH?

What is Linux Foundation Public Health?

LFPH is a nonprofit, open source initiative with a mission to help PHAs. It is building a global community of tech and consulting companies, PHAs, epidemiologists and other public health specialists, privacy and security experts, and individual developers.

LFPH is helping PHAs deploy exposure notification apps and has brought in the Covid Credentials Initiative (CCI) to take a lead creating interoperable standards for sharing pandemic-related health data.

The Linux Foundation hosts LFPH and has a long history of enabling global, cross-industry technology collaboration. It’s open source approach provides an architecture for collaboration that is needed to rapidly build, secure, and sustain critical components of stressed public health infrastructure.

9.30 India (IST)  |  12.00 Hong Kong, Singapore  |  13.00 Korea, Japan  |  15.00 Sydney, Melbourne  |  17.00 New Zealand | 19.45 San Francisco

Related upcoming webinars